• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 580 other subscribers
  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 587,306 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    James Leza on QUESTION: Do You Have to Speak…
    Committed To Truth on Reading: James 1- Joy in Trial…
    K on QUESTION: re Seed in Belly of…
    Meagann on Christ and the Church –…
    Carol Moore on QUESTIONS: Re Mind-Reading…
  • Top Posts

  • Archives

COMMUNION MEDITATION: Out of Reverence for God


Out of Reverence for God

The earlier governors – those preceding me – placed a heavy burden on the people…. Their assistants also lorded it over the people. But out of reverence for God I did not act like that. – Nehemiah 5:15

How often have rulers, even those over God’s people, abused their positions to put a heavy burden on the people and extort exorbitant taxes from them.

As governor in Jerusalem, Nehemiah said, “Out of reverence for God I did not act like that.” In fact, he did not claim all he could have legitimately claimed from the people – and actually fed 150 daily at his own table and expense.

When I look at Jesus, I see this same Spirit of self-sacrifice and giving. That same Spirit was in Paul and in the other apostles. I see it today in many church leaders. Sadly, other leaders are more like the governors who preceded Nehemiah.

How do I use God’s gifts to me? Do I give what I have for God’s glory and the benefit of others? Or do I use it selfishly only for myself – while I actually look for ways to parlay my “position” (whatever it may be) into a selfish benefit?

Out of reverence for God, I should not act like that.

I need to be more like Jesus, who gave Himself for me. As I remember Him at this Table, I pray He will help me act out of reverence for God.

Leave a comment