• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 580 other subscribers
  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 588,345 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    James Leza on QUESTION: Do You Have to Speak…
    Committed To Truth on Reading: James 1- Joy in Trial…
    K on QUESTION: re Seed in Belly of…
    Meagann on Christ and the Church –…
    Carol Moore on QUESTIONS: Re Mind-Reading…
  • Top Posts

  • September 2009
    S M T W T F S
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Archives

Communion Meditation (13) – Antidote to Worry


“The one who received the seed that fell among the thorns is the man who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke it, making it unfruitful.” –  Matthew 13:22

Bread and WineMany say much about wanting to “take the Lord’s Supper” without distraction. By this, they seem to think most of audible or visible distraction – such as babies crying or people scuffing in their pews. Some even extend this to distraction from the congregtion singing an appropriate hymn as they fellowship together in the Lord’s Supper. “I cannot take the Supper with these distractions,” they complain.

Yet, the distractions that are most likely to turn us away from remembering the Lord are of a different sort.

The most damaging distractions are the “worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth” that keep God’s Word from bearing fruit in my life.

When I approach this meeting with Jesus at His Table as I should, He will distract me, from my worries and keep me from being deceived by wealth and the cares of this world.

Rather than those things distracting me from Him, He will distract me from them!

It is as I remember Him that wealth becomes less valuable and worries less significant. He helps me keep my life in focus and perspective.

Each week, He shows me anew what true riches are and how insignificant the things that cause me the most worry and fretfulness.

After all, how does a baby crying or a congregation singing compare to Jesus dying for me? In fact, these might even help me see what is truly important as I remember Him.

How can I worry when He stands here with me?


Next
– Two Dinners


Previous
– Mercy, Not Sacrifice

Leave a comment