• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 554 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 423,169 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
    joseph chisando on (1) BAPTISM WITH THE HOLY SPIR…
  • Top Posts

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

ANONYMOUS SISTER (1)


In response to my blog of 1/16/11, I received the following:

It’s been several weeks since I’ve written to you and in that time I have learned some more about how to help the people on my street who seem to be without.  Remember my effort with the ham biscuits, etc.? [You can read about that here. – JS] As things unfolded, I learned that God has made a way that is much easier and cheaper than I imagined.

Food:  portable, not easily spoiled food is appreciated.  Boiled jumbo eggs, unshelled.  Oranges or other fruit.  Baked small sweet potatoes. Each item is nearly pocket sized.    Plain food, but high in nutrition.

I have heard that they appreciate foil.   I provide it and let them wrap their food in it themselves.  I would like a source for packages of salt and pepper, but I am betting that they know how to get that.

Socks:  White tube socks.  They depend on their feet for transportation.  Nothing sounds as comforting as a new, clean, unholy pair of socks.  Walmart has 10 for $9.  Wrap a message around each pair like, “God is where He was when you last knew Him. He waits for you.”  OR “God was thinking of you and He wanted you to have this. Check in with Him.”

Toiletries: I just heard of some who keep zip lock bags of miniature toothpaste and other toiletries to hand out to needy people.

Money:  If I have contact with a street person for a while, I might include a small amount of money.  I am concerned about them being robbed so I’m careful how I hand the money to them.

I stopped to speak to a poorly clothed man in a wheelchair on a 24 degree morning. He said he wasn’t cold—I didn’t tell him the temp.   We spoke about his mother and how she prayed for him.  The conversation was going fairly well until he asked me if I had a cigarette.  I answered that his body could use nutrition from good food rather than spending money on cigarettes.  His battery powered wheelchair that had seemed to have some problems  suddenly got a burst of speed and he was gone.  Should I have given him some money toward a pack of cigarettes?  Last I knew, they were $7.  What would Jesus do?  What does God want me to do?

Anonymous Sister

Maybe you have a story to share about how you interact with those who are in need. If so, please share it! It will encourage someone else as this may have encouraged you.

Leave a Reply

