• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 554 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 431,915 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Kevin on QUESTION: Who Was Pharaoh Duri…
    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
  • Top Posts

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

COMMUNION MEDITATION


Communion Meditation…

Let Us Go Up To the Mountain of the LORD

Many nations will say, “Come, let us go up to the mountain of the LORD, to the house of the God of Jacob. He will teach us His ways, so that we may walk in His paths.” – Micah 4:2

This prophecy, also found in Isaiah 2, looks ahead to the coming of God’s Kingdom. It is a festive time. Just as Judah made its pilgrimage to Jerusalem, to Mt. Zion, and to the Temple, the house of the LORD, so “many nations” will join in the festive journey.

In a very real way, this is an early view of the Lord’s Supper. This is a time of festive celebration of God’s great gifts to His People.

In these wonderful gifts of God’s love, we learn His ways. When the prophet spoke of God’s ways, he did not mean we would learn rituals God has given us to perform. He means what God said to Moses when Moses asked Him to show him His ways.

If You are pleased with me, teach me your ways so I may know you and continue to find favor with you. – Exodus 33:13

As their conversation continued, God said,

I will do the very thing you have asked…. I will cause all My goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the LORD in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion. – Exodus 33:17, 19

Moses asked God to teach him His ways; God spoke of His goodness, mercy, and compassion. He did not talk, in this context, of rituals at all – but of His character.

This character of God is what I am to learn at this Table as I remember His Son, Jesus. I am to learn God’s character, so that I may walk in it as a true child of His.

LORD, may I learn and walk in Your ways! Amen.

Leave a Reply

