• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 554 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 425,360 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Kevin on QUESTION: Who Was Pharaoh Duri…
    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
  • Top Posts

  • August 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

A CHRISTIAN NATION?


I get emails. Many of them are forwarded from others. This one came from a dear friend. It is his words, not a forwarded email from someone else. I baptized him and his wife more than 25 years ago. I like the way he thinks today.

If we are to be a Christian nation, we need to become a Christian people, and that means sharing your faith in the Lord with others. “If anyone is ashamed of me and my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his Father’s glory with the holy angels.” – Mark 8:38.  The answer lies in our desire to share our faith. Think about it.

But just as He who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.” – 1 Peter 1:15-16

He came from a Catholic family, as did his wife. He sent this to many of his family members – in an attempt to share his faith with them (as he has been doing – successfully, as at least two of his brothers have obeyed the gospel) over the years.

Nations find revival as individuals turn back to God. Becoming a Christian nation does not depend on political parties or political action. It begins in our hearts as we turn our own hearts to God and then encourage others to do the same.

Without holiness in ourselves, it will be hard for us to tell others of the holiness of God. Who wants to listen to someone who does not practice what he preaches? Jesus pronounced a woe on the Pharisees for not practicing what they preach. Do you think He will expect less of us?

So the beginning place is with me. My own heart and life. Committed to God. Loving Him with my entire heart, mind, spirit, and strength.

But when I love God that way, it can never remain with me alone. As Jeremiah said (paraphrased), “When I tried to keep quiet, I could not because His word was in me as a fire burning in my bones. I could not keep it to myself” (Jeremiah 20:9).

When we have a “holy bone fire” we will become “on fire” for the Lord – and the world around us will become more holy. As this fire spreads, our nation will become more Christian.

Yet, do not expect a majority of people to become Christian. We can still be in a Christian nation. That nation, however, is not the United States of America . It is the Kingdom of God. Let’s never forget that. Out citizenship is not here, but in Heaven.

We are here as ambassadors for Christ, who has given us a ministry of reconciliation. And, note in 2 Corinthians 5:18-20, the ministry of reconciliation precedes the message of reconciliation. Until we become peacemakers among the people of the world (starting again with ourselves), we cannot expect our message of reconciliation to be heard.

Jesus Himself said the same:

I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as You are in me and I am in You. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. I have given them the glory that You gave Me, that they may be one as We are one. I in them and You in Me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that You sent Me. – John 17:20-23

It starts with me, moves into my congregation, and from there goes to the fellowship among other Christians – and from there to the nation and world around us.

Leave a Reply

