• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 553 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 432,579 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Alex Wiens on Why Did God Send Abraham…
    Kevin on QUESTION: Who Was Pharaoh Duri…
    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
  • Top Posts

  • Archives

COMMUNION MEDITATION: My Eyes Have Seen You


Communion Meditation…

My Eyes Have Seen You

My ears had heard of you, but now my eyes have seen you. – Job 42:5

There is no substitute for seeing for yourself. Job had heard many things about God. He knew much about God. What he “knew,” though, did not match the reality of his life.

When he was in the furnace of affliction, his theology (that is, what he thought he knew about God) was not sufficient to sustain him. He even challenged God to a debate – and thought he would win.

That was until God came to him in the whirlwind. Was that a tornado? Could be. When God comes in a tornado, He gets our attention.

God questioned Job. Job first offered to shut up and say nothing. He had challenged God, though, and silence was no answer. He must put up – or confess.

Job confessed when he saw God.

Jesus said, “If you have seen me, you have seen the Father.” When I see the love of the Savior, I see the love of the Father. When I see His compassion, graciousness, mercy, and tender kindness – I see the Father, for the Son is like the Father in every way that matters.

How do I respond?

Do I confess my unworthiness before Him? Do I change my habits to conform to His image? Do I love to gaze on His beauty? Do I declare His praises, not only in my words but also in my life? As I look to Him from day to day, does my concept of God mature?

That is the real purpose of this Table – for me to grow in the likeness of Jesus, and therefore in God’s image.

Leave a Reply

