• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 554 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 431,919 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Kevin on QUESTION: Who Was Pharaoh Duri…
    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
  • Top Posts

  • Archives

COMMUNION MEDITATION: Speak, Lord!


Speak, Lord

Go lie down; and it shall be, if He calls you, that you must say, “Speak Lord, for Your servant hears.” – 1 Samuel 3:9

The young Samuel was living at the Tabernacle with Eli the Priest. He heard a voice calling him and ran to Eli saying, “Here I am.” Eli said he had not called. This happened three times that night before Eli realized it must be the Lord calling him. Then he told Samuel to reply, “Speak Lord; I am listening.”

How many times does the Lord call to me and I do not realize it is His voice? How many signs does He put before me that I do not see?

How often I am blind and deaf before Him when I should be answering, “Speak Lord, for Your servant hears”!

Even at this Table, where I have consciously come into His presence, I am prone to shut my ears to Him. I do not listen to the messages He wants me to hear because so many other things fill my heart.

I remain sorrowful because I do not hear His word of comfort. When I am discouraged, I fail to heed His word of hope. If I feel alone, I fail to sense His presence. Am I weak without knowing His Spirit is with me to bless me with strength?

At this Table, I come to remember Him and how He blesses me, to listen to His Word of grace and His charge to walk with Him.

But do I hear His voice – or do I just sit and “take communion”?

Leave a Reply

