• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 554 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 431,919 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Kevin on QUESTION: Who Was Pharaoh Duri…
    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
  • Top Posts

  • Archives

COMMUNION MEDITATION: A Prophet Like Moses


A COMMUNION MEDITATION….

A Prophet Like Moses

The LORD to Moses: “I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their brothers; I will put my words in his mouth, and he will tell them everything I command him.” – Deuteronomy 18:18

Moses was the greatest prophet Israel ever had. God said of him that he was different from all the other prophets God sent. With them, God said, “I reveal myself to [them] in visions,” but “with [Moses] I speak face to face” (Numbers 12:6-8). He said this soon after Israel left Mt. Sinai to travel to Caanan.

As Israel was on the far side of Jordan, just before going tinto the Promised Land, God told Moses (and through him, the people) He would raise up a prophet like Moses.

In Acts 3:22, Peter quoted this prophecy given to Moses – and applied it to Jesus.

We should honor Jesus even more than Israel honored Moses.

A Christian woman worked for Jewish employers. They frequently took the name of Jesus in vain. One day she went to them and asked, “How would you feel if I were continually to say, ‘Oh Moses!’ when I was disgusted? Yet you habitually say, ‘Oh Christ!’ to express your disgust.” As I heard the story, they apologized to her and determined not to use His name that way any longer.

A little thing? Maybe. But do I, a Jesus-believer, honor Him as much? I need to examine myself now at this table. How do I honor – or fail to honor – Him daily in my life? How do I honor Him here? Do I respect and reverence Him as Lord?

Leave a Reply

