• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 554 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 423,171 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
    joseph chisando on (1) BAPTISM WITH THE HOLY SPIR…
  • Top Posts

  • February 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • Archives

COMMUNION MEDITATION: Because You Obeyed Me


Communion Meditation…

Because You Obeyed Me

…Through your offspring all nations on earth will be blessed, because you have obeyed me. – Genesis 22:18

I never know how many will be blessed because I obey God – or how many will miss a blessing when I disobey.

I visited a church where I had preached more than 25 years before. Three of the five elders were men I had baptized, one of whom I did not even remember. All three of these came out of the world – people I had helped to come to the Lord. Two of them I had married as well, and baptized at least one of the wives.

More than 35 years after I left New Zealand, I was there for a visit. A woman came to me and said, “I would not be here [in worship] if you had not knocked on my grandmother’s door.” I remembered her grandmother, but did not remember I had been the first to knock on her door.

Every act of obedience to God ripples through time and continues to bless people.

I do not expect my obedience to bless all nations the same way Abraham’s obedience blesses me.

Nevertheless, a similar principle is working when I, in faith, obey God. A contrary principle works when I disobey Him.

Why do I think, then, that what I do is of little importance – and that I can disobey God with no harm to others? Why do I become discouraged when my obedience seems to make no difference that I can see?

At this Table, Lord, teach me to trust and obey – and to let the results depend on you without becoming discouraged myself.


Leave a Reply

