• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 553 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 432,369 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Kevin on QUESTION: Who Was Pharaoh Duri…
    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
  • Top Posts

  • February 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • Archives

MINI-MEDITATIONS (19 – 24)


These “Mini-Meditations” are undeveloped thoughts. Use them to “prime the pump” of your own imagination, as “meditation starters.” You might use them in a bulletin as a filler – or in many others ways. No attribution required.

Communion Meditation #19

forgiving one another, just as God in Christ has forgiven you. – Ephesians 4:30

I know a man, a deacon, who could not forgive one of the elders. He resigned as a deacon, but continued as a member. The elder tried to speak to him, but he created a scene. Both had the Lord’s Supper every Sunday.

As we remember the Lord’s forgiveness to us, we need to remember we need to turn loose some things too. We are not just to be kind and compassionate to one another; we are also to forgive each other as God has forgiven us in Christ.

Communion Meditation #20

“…His incomparably great power for us …. Is like … his mighty strength, which he exerted in Christ when he raised him from the dead. –  Ephesians 1:19 – 20.

He was crucified on Friday, but we have the Lord’s Supper on Sunday. Why? Is it the fact His resurrection was on the first day of the week?

We often forget the resurrection. Paul said God’s power that raised Jesus is also for us – now. Because of the resurrection we can live a new life as a new creation. Doesn’t that bear some thinking about?

Communion Meditation #21

“God…made us alive with Christ … when we were dead….” – Ephesians 2:4-5.

It’s not hard to understand that when we were in sin, we were dead to God. It is harder for us to understand that when we are forgiven, we are given power to live to God. God gives His Spirit to do this in us.

Remember Jesus died to set us free from sin so we can be alive to God. Let’s live for God each day as we grow in His grace and knowledge of Him.

Communion Meditation #22

… grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge….”  – Ephesians 3:17-19

God’s love is as wide as the world. It is as long as Eternity. It is as high as Heaven. It is so deep it reaches me. I cannot wrap my mind around love like that, but God sent Jesus to be a picture of that love. Why? God wants to have me– totally! Think how much God wants you – and want Him that much, too!

Lord, let me know how much you love and desire me, & help me love as you do..

Communion Meditation #23

“Christ…gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering….” – Ephesians 5:2.

Christ is a fragrant offering, the perfume God has given His beloved people!

I’m to be a fragrant offering to him. Think of the fragrance God gives me – and of the fragrance of the aroma of Christ He helps me be (see 2 Corinthians 2:14-16).

“Where there is the smell of death and corruption, let me be the smell of life and light. Let me be, in this evil world, as Christ was when He came. Amen.”

Communion Meditation #24

Blessed is the man who will eat at the feast in the Kingdom of God – Luke 14:15

This was said to Jesus just before he told the parable of the excuses – of those invited to the feast, but who made excuses. He invites me to His Table to meet Him. Do I excuse myself – with flimsy excuses as in the parable? When I am here in body, am I here in spirit? Is my heart in it? Do I go through the motions and nothing else? May I examine myself to see if I are living by faith in Him!

NEXT:

PREVIOUS: MINI-MEDITATIONS 13-18

May I never make an excuse for not sharing in fellowship with You! Amen.


Leave a Reply

