• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 553 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 432,579 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Alex Wiens on Why Did God Send Abraham…
    Kevin on QUESTION: Who Was Pharaoh Duri…
    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
  • Top Posts

  • January 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

MINI-MEDITATIONS (13 – 18)


Use these brief, undeveloped thoughts as bulletin fillers, or as “primers” for your own meditative thoughts. No attribution needed.

Communion Meditation (13)

Give him the name Jesus, because he will save his people from their sins.” Matthew 1:21.

Let’s not think of Jesus as a babe in the manger, but as the Savior of his people. As others think only of His birth, let me think of His death that I might be born to new life.

Lord, let me remember He was born to die for me. Help me die to live for Him. Amen.

Communion Meditation (14)

He gave himself, “to rescue us from the present evil age….” – Galatians 1:4a.

We often think of Jesus dying for the remission of our sins. Do we also realize He gave Himself to give us a better life now? His death is not just to remove guilt; He also died to lift us from the moral cesspool of this age. He came that I might live as He lives. Am I living free of the evil, or am I going back to my old habits of life?

Lord, help me live free of this evil age. Help me truly live as Your child. Amen.

Communion Meditation (15)

I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting the one who called you by the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel.” – Galatians 1:6.

How can I forget the grace that calls me? Here he reminds me of His gift and calls me to live by faith. Yet, I often turn this Communion into mere command, forgetting how He called me by dying to live in resurrection power! I will never live in power if I live by law.

Lord, help me live by grace so I may live in the power of His resurrection. Amen.

Communion Meditation (16)

Surely he took up our infirmities and carried our sorrows….” – Isaiah 53:4

Jesus bore my sins as a burden at the cross. Yet, He takes up my infirmities and sorrows in other ways too. My fellowship with him is more than in my forgiveness. It is also in sorrows and tribulations of life. Let me reflect on all the burdens I can cast on him because He cares for me.

Lord, let me realize you care for me in all things, not just my sinfulness.  Amen.

Communion Meditation (17)

“I will…drink again of the fruit of the vine…when I drink it anew in the kingdom of God.” Mark 14:25.

Jesus is here. Am I as aware of His presence as I am of the one behind me who sings off-key? Do I rejoice He’s here – or wish the service would quickly be over? Am I glad to be with imperfect people here, because I also know HE is here?

Lord, let me realize You make sharing this meal a divine experience! Amen.

Communion Meditation (18)

This is my body given for you; do this in remembrance of me.” Luke 22:29.

Do we ritualize this Supper so much it fossilizes? Is the vibrant, living Lord with us in the center of our hearts changing our lives into His likeness – and giving us His love and joy by His presence? That is what makes this event special, not the ritual performance of this memorial to Him.

Lord, help me to find more than a ritual at this Table. Help me to find you!  Amen.

NEXT: Mini-Meditation 19-24

PREVIOUS: Mini-Meditation 7-12

Leave a Reply

