• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 554 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 423,171 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
    joseph chisando on (1) BAPTISM WITH THE HOLY SPIR…
  • Top Posts

  • January 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

COMMUNION MEDITATION (26) The Betrayer Was at the Table


And while they were eating, he said, “I tell you the truth, one of you will betray me.” – Matthew 26:21

Bread and WineThis was just before He took bread, gave thanks, broke it, gave to them, saying, “This is my body.”

The betrayer was still with them.

Does that suggest that if Jesus were physically here, He might say, “One of you will betray me?”

There was also a denier, and ten others who forsook Him. All fled when He was arrested, and Peter denied Him that night.

Were they worthy to be with Jesus, have Him wash their feet, and give them bread and wine? Were they worthy to have Jesus’ die for them?

No they were not – and neither am I!

Yet, some decline the Supper of the Lord because they feel “unworthy.”

Dear brother, precious sister, when I am most aware I am unworthy, I partake of this Feast most worthily.

I am not worthy. He did not die for the worthy ones. He died to make me what I ought to be, not because I had straightened out the kinks in my life.

Here, I renew love for Him. His love and mercy saves us, not how I make myself worthy to be here.

Lord, help me remember this! Amen.

NEXT(27) – Barabbas or Jesus

PREVIOUS (25) – Washing Jesus’ Feet

Leave a Reply

