• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 580 other subscribers
  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 586,167 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    James Leza on QUESTION: Do You Have to Speak…
    Committed To Truth on Reading: James 1- Joy in Trial…
    K on QUESTION: re Seed in Belly of…
    Meagann on Christ and the Church –…
    Carol Moore on QUESTIONS: Re Mind-Reading…
  • Top Posts

  • December 2009
    S M T W T F S
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

COMMUNION MEDITATION (25): Washing Jesus’ Feet


Bread and Wine“I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.” – Matthew 25:40

At the Last Supper, Jesus washed feet. He served us, and told us also to wash feet (John 13).

In Matthew 25:40 He said, whatever I do for the least of these, I do for Him.

If I want to wash Jesus’ nail-pierced feet, I need to wash the feet of His brothers.

At Judgment, God does not check off how often I have eaten the Lord Supper or when I missed worship.

Instead, I see Him talking about deeds of service I do in Jesus’ name.

When I give a cup of water, the person who gets it is blessed by Jesus as He serves that person through me. In this, I also give to Jesus.

I serve Him by giving to another in His name. I cannot build a Temple to glorify Him. I can, in His Spirit, live a life of service in His name.

That is what sooths the pain of the nails and lash He suffered. He gave Himself for me. Now I give my life for Him –serving others in His name.

At the Table with Jesus, will I remember He washed my feet? Will I wash His by serving others?

[Scheduling Note: After the New Year, I will have the final three posts in this series of Communion Meditations from the gospel of Matthew. Between now and then, I will interrupt this series to have three seasonal meditations, the first two of which will be part of a series from Dec 14 – 25 I call The Twelve Days of Christmas. The third will focus on the coming of the New Year.]

NEXT in the Matthew Series (26) The Betrayer Was At the Table
PREVIOUS (24) – What Will Endure?

2 Responses

  1. Jerry,

    I was just studying John 13 this morning. Thanks for sharing your insights!

    Like

Leave a comment