• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 553 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 432,579 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Alex Wiens on Why Did God Send Abraham…
    Kevin on QUESTION: Who Was Pharaoh Duri…
    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
  • Top Posts

  • December 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

MINI COMMUNION MEDITATIONS (7 – 12)


[These “Mini-Meditations” are not developed. They are brief, 6-8 line “starter thoughts” for you to develop as you meditate. Use them as you will – personally or in a church bulletin, without attribution. – JS]

Communion Meditation (7)

He entered the Most Holy Place once for all by his own blood, having obtained eternal redemption. Hebrews 9:12.

We remember His “once for all” death forever. This is redemption for us from “the empty way of life handed down” (1 Peter 1:18). Is my life empty, filled only with toys and games, with getting and consuming? Am I full of Jesus or myself?

Lord, fill me with Yourself and Your love, so I will not be empty any longer. Amen.

Communion Meditation (8)

We have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin. 1 John 1:7b

“Communion” is fellowship. Here, we have fellowship with one another and with Jesus. We are to strengthen and encourage each other as He purifies us from sin. This is true always, but both of these find special emphasis at this Table.

Lord, give me fellowship with you, and help me love my Christian family more. Also, purify me from all my sinfulness. Amen.

Communion Meditation (9)

Were not all ten cleansed? Where are the other nine?” Luke 17:17.

This past week we celebrated our national day of thanksgiving. What a wonderful idea! I do need to give thanks. I wonder if I thank Him even 1 in 10 times that I should for all His gifts to me. Now, let me thank him sincerely for the gift of His Son who cleanses me from my guilt and hopelessness.

Lord, Help me thank you from the bottom of my soul. May gratitude for your Gift always be in my heart and life. Amen.

Communion Meditation (10)

I will lift up the cup of salvation and call on the name of the Lord. – Psalm 116:12f

This is the cup Jesus drank, which He told His disciples they would drink. Yet it is also a cup of thanksgiving for participation in His blood. A cup of suffering and of joy. This cup we must drink to repay the Lord’s goodness to us.

Lord, help me share His suffering. Let me find the joy of His resurrection. Amen

Communion Meditation (11)

You are a priest forever in the order of Melchizedek.” Psalm 110:4b.

Jesus is our High Priest, yet he is not descended from Aaron. He is priest like Melchizedek, the King of Peace. As High Priest, he must have something to offer. He offered himself. Human and Divine. God and Man meeting at the Cross where we are offered in Him. Dying to live. Suffering to find joy.

Lord, may I offer myself for You, as You offered Yourself for me. Amen.

Communion Meditation (12)

When you were dead… God made you alive with Christ. – Colossians 2:13

Most people live, expecting to die. Christians die, expecting to live. It’s not just that we expect to live again after we die. We die with Jesus expecting to live in newness of life. May I reflect on this new life as I examine myself at this Table.

Lord, help me to understand how life follows death – and help me to die to self so that I may live with Christ day by day in this life and in eternity hereafter. Amen.

NEXT Mini-Meditation 13-18

PREVIOUS Mini-Meditations 1-6

Leave a Reply

