• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 554 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 431,915 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Kevin on QUESTION: Who Was Pharaoh Duri…
    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
  • Top Posts

  • November 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

COMMUNION MEDITATION (23): The Weeping Savior


O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, …. how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing.  – Matthew 23:37

Bread and WineMatthew 23 ends as Jesus weeps over Jerusalem, but earlier has His sternest words to its leaders.

Reading those words of condemnation, some think Jesus was angry. No, He was in tears. Read the verse above. Ask, “Could He say it without tears?”

Just Think: the strongest condemnation Jesus ever gave was through tears.

What does this say to me? Should I congratulate myself when I fault others? Or fall on my knees confessing my own sins?

Here, I am to examine myself. “It’s me, it’s me, it’s me, O Lord, standing in the need of prayer.”

I am not here to examine you or my neighbor down the street, but to examine me.

When I examine you, I am apt to say, “Aha! You don’t deserve this Table.” I doubt I can condemn through tears, as Jesus did.

When I examine myself, I fall at His cross in love and thanksgiving for His grace and favor.

Then, I have my deepest love for Him because I realize most how much I need Him.

NEXT (24) – What Will Endure?
PREVIOUS (22) – God’s Party

NOTE: WordPress has just added a Subscription feature to its blogs. At the top of this page, on the left (just below the Search option), you can register to receive this blog by email. You have the choice of getting it each time a new post is put on the site, once each day, or once each week with summaries of blogs posted that day or that week. Of course, you will be able to change your option of how to receive it as well as to cancel your free email subscription.

Leave a Reply

