• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 551 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 416,710 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
    joseph chisando on (1) BAPTISM WITH THE HOLY SPIR…
    PATRICIA DAVIS MCKAN… on QUESTION: Do You Have to Speak…
    Daisy Shirley on QUESTION: Where Is the Ark of…
  • Top Posts

  • November 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

MINI-MEDITATIONS (1-6)


Bread and WineHere is a collection of “mini-meditations” – thoughts that are not fully developed. You might think of them as “meditation starters.” I plan to drop a few of these into our mix from time to time. Here are the first half-dozen. Use these any way you like – as seeds for your own meditations – or as bulletin fillers, no attribution needed!

Meditation 1

A student is not above his teacher, nor a servant above his master. It is enough for the student to be like his teacher, and the servant like his master. –Matthew 10:24-25

Our teacher and master leads the way for us in service and suffering in the ultimate battle against evil. He calls us also to join him in this battle. Will I be like him? Will I take up my cross? Will I joyfully follow where he leads to serve?

Lord, in Jesus’ name, I pray that I may be like him always. Amen.

Meditation 2

You disowned the Holy and Righteous One and asked that a murderer be released to you. — Acts 3:14

Who is “released” to me? With whom do I spend my life? The shallow, empty people of the world as they come into my living room via TV, books and pop music? Or do I seek the life given by the Author of Life in whom Life itself lives?

Lord, may I hold always to You, who are True Life, that I may truly live! Amen.

Meditation 3

Say to him: “Forgive all our sins and receive us graciously, that we may offer the fruit of our lips.” – Hosea 14:2

Jesus invites me to His table because He longs to receive me and forgive me. I find deliverance from myself and the world around me no where else. Yet, even at this table I am often in denial of how much I need him. Why am I this way?

Lord, let me see myself in honesty – and fall before you seeking grace! Amen.

Meditation 4

And now I will show you the most excellent way. – 1 Corinthians 12:31.

The most excellent way is the way of love. I see Love most perfectly at Calvary where Jesus gave Himself completely for me. He calls me to love others as He loves me. I am to love you as He loved me, and He loves me as The Father loves Him. This leaves no room for envy or bitterness among us.

At this table of remembrance, may I remember His love – and follow it. Amen.


Meditation 5

They overcame [the accuser] by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death. — Rev. 12:11.

Fear of dying keeps us from living. When I save my life, I lose it. When I accept death, I begin to live. Jesus leads the way. No man lived as fully as He lived – and I overcome by His blood when I do not shrink from death.

Lord, may I hold to You more than to my life that I may truly live! Amen.


Meditation 6

For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, yet for your sakes he became poor, so that you through his poverty might become rich. – 2 Cor. 8:9b

We see God’s grace in sacrificial giving, especially in Jesus giving himself for us. What we sometimes miss is that people see His grace also our sacrificial giving – of ourselves, of forgiveness, of blessing. Do people see His grace in my giving?

Lord, help me give myself that all may see your grace in my giving, Amen.

Mini-Meditations 7-12

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for the mini meditations.
    I enjoyed the thoughts for us.
    I will meditate on them this week.
    I hope you have a great day!

  2. Thank you for your kind comments.
    JS

Leave a Reply

