• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 551 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 416,783 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
    joseph chisando on (1) BAPTISM WITH THE HOLY SPIR…
    PATRICIA DAVIS MCKAN… on QUESTION: Do You Have to Speak…
    Daisy Shirley on QUESTION: Where Is the Ark of…
  • Top Posts

  • October 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

COMMUNION MEDITATION (18): Who Is The Greatest?


Bread and WineWhoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.     Matthew 18:4

What vain beings we humans are! We boast of our accomplish­ments as if they had value. We strut about as if we were some­body. We vie for fame as if the opinion of the world matters.

As we do this, nearby is a child –  at play or in school. A busy child, unconcerned with our competitive ways. Just going about his or her “business” of living, learning and loving.

Jesus said I must be like that child to be great in the kingdom of God. Some things I must seek to find. But not King­dom Greatness. There, I seek only Jesus, not my greatness.

Jesus did not come seeking greatness; He came seeking me, to rescue and redeem me. He focused on me, not Himself and His reputation. But in giving Himself to deliver me from the powers of darkness in which I lived, He found His greatness.

Therefore God exalted Him to the highest place and gave Him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. – Philippians 2:9-11

Jesus humbled Himself – and found greatness. Do I think I will find greatness “struttin’ my stuff” or will that make me look at least faintly ridiculous? Will human recognition make me great? Or will I find it the same way Jesus did? In cross-bearing.

Jesus always honored His Father. He always served those around Him, giving them what they needed. Mostly, they needed Him! Finally, He gave Himself to die.

Remembering Him is what this table is all about. Not just the final hours of His life. His whole holy life. All of it. In all of it He showed me the way to genuine greatness.

Will I learn from Him? He beckons. Will I follow Him?

NEXT – (19) Rich Young Ruler: Missed Opportunity

PREVIOUS
– (17) My Metamorphosis

3 Responses

  1. You did a wonderful job with this communion meditation. Powerful. Thanks for sharing it with us all.

    I was wondering if I could use it at church sometime?
    Let me know.

    • Kenny, Of course you may use the Meditation. All I ask (if it is printed), is do not sell it – and give attribution to the blog as the source. (The email address you left bounced back as an unknown subscriber.)
      Jerry

  2. Thank you Jerry.
    God bless all you do to make a kingdom difference.
    I have added you to my list of favs and enjoy your blog so much.
    It is encouraging and challenging to my faith and relaitonship with Almighy God. God bless and hope you have a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

