• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 554 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 431,915 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Kevin on QUESTION: Who Was Pharaoh Duri…
    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
  • Top Posts

  • October 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

COMMUNION MEDITATION (17) – My Metamorphosis


After six days Jesus took with him Peter, James and John the brother of James, and led them up a high mountain by themselves. There he was transfigured before them… Matthew 17:1-2.

Bread and WineThe word for transfigured here is the Greek word from which we get our word metamorphosis. This is the same word Paul uses in 2 Corinthians 3:18 when he says, And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory are being trans­formed into his likeness….

When Jesus was transfigured, he shone with the glory of the light of God. When we are transformed, Paul goes on to say, God who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ (2 Corinthians 4:6)

In other words, as we are changed by reflecting on the Lord’s glory, the light of God shines in our hearts.

Thus the humble little grub that I am has a metamorphosis into the butterfly that resembles the Son of God who is the express image of His Father.

It almost seems blasphemous to think it, much less to say it. This is what is happening to me? The miserable sinner, Me?? Is that what God has in mind for ME???

But, that is what He has said. He told his first disciples, Come, follow me, and I will make you fishers of men. Note that He did not call them to make themselves fishers of men. He called them to follow Him – and He would make them fishers of men.

The only question is, “Will I reflect His glory?” The NIV foot­note here gives contemplate as an alternative translation. As I reflect on or contemplate the Lord’s glory, He changes me into His likeness through the Holy Spirit within me.

How much do I want to be like Jesus? Do I want it enough to really focus on Him and His glory? Will I marvel at what He is? Do I long to be like Him? Do I meditate on Him and His love? If I seek these things, He will see to my metamorphosis.


NEXT
– (18) Who Is The Greatest?

Previous
– (16) You Are the Christ!

Leave a Reply

