• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 554 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 422,717 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
    joseph chisando on (1) BAPTISM WITH THE HOLY SPIR…
  • Top Posts

  • October 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

A Facebook Note by My Daughter


Once in a great while, I look at things on Facebook. Tonight, I was browsing some “notes” by different people I know, and I came across the following from my daughter. Let me tell you now, it made me very proud (in a good sort of way) of her! Maybe something rubbed off after all!

I recently took a silly little quiz on FB that a friend had sent to me…everyone on FB knows the type of quiz/ application I am talking about. I personally did not think anything wrong with it, but it did provoke a few comments on my status.

First of all, let me make sure it is perfectly clear that there is only one spirit I am interested in following – that is the spirit given by God himself: the Holy Spirit. I strive to let Him be the guiding force in my life.

The Spirit Guide quiz was just a silly, seemingly harmless quiz that asked personality questions – and most of us at one time or another have taken personality profiles or quick quizes “What color are you?” type thing with the assumption that the color or character or whatever it happens to be represents some part of your personality. That is all this Spirit Guide quiz was as well. It is sort of sad that I have to explain myself though.

But this also makes me realize how easy it is for people to take words and actions of others, twist them and (dare I say it) judge them. As a Christian, it is important for us to realize that we do not have all the answers [Luckily we know the One that does though] and to stop thinking or acting as if we have it all together. I am not talking about watering down the message or not standing up for what is right. We absolutely have to take stands. But there is a way right and wrong way to confront others.

I have to confess, at first I was a bit offended by my friend’s remark – but then I realized, in some fashion I was doing the same thing back. I was not considering where this person was coming from…or what else was going on in their life. I just got a little upset. Another friend made a comment and the response seemed to escalate a bit, which was also a bit upseting and appeared to be an ‘attack’ on me and the 2nd friend. I do not honestly believe my friend was trying in any way to hurt or offend me or anyone else, but it is just an example of how words may be misinterpretted or come across in a bad way when they were intended for good.

Regarding the comparison to Aslan (my so called spirit guide was a lion): I happen to be a big fan of the Chronicles of Narnia, long before the movies were ever produced. And since Aslan, the lion, does represent the Christ-figure in the books, I take the comparison as a compliment even though I know how far from being like Christ I truly am. But if I can be Christ-like in even one small way to someone, than that is just God’s goodness that is able to get through all the junk I try to mess everything up with…yes, I try to be more like Him, but I do manage to stray far too often.

To all my friends though: May the Lord bless you and keep you…

2 Responses

  1. Nice. Stealing your own daughter’s FB posting…

    Just Kidding – you know I love you and yes, some things you tried to teach me did stick. Now I pray what I have tried to teach my daughter will also come through.

    L

Leave a Reply

