• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 551 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 416,680 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
    joseph chisando on (1) BAPTISM WITH THE HOLY SPIR…
    PATRICIA DAVIS MCKAN… on QUESTION: Do You Have to Speak…
    Daisy Shirley on QUESTION: Where Is the Ark of…
  • Top Posts

  • August 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

Communion Meditation (10): To Be Like Jesus


To Be Like Jesus

“A student is not above his teacher, nor a servant above his master. It is enough for the student to be like his teacher, and the servant like his master.” – Matthew 10:24-25

“To be like Jesus, To be like Jesus! All I want, to be like Him

All through Life’s journey, From Earth to Glory

All I want – To be like Him!”

Bread and WineI come to this Table to be with my Teacher, Master, and Friend. He is the Teacher; I am the learner; He is the Master; I am the servant though we are friends. I come to learn to be like Him.

I cannot come proudly and arrogantly; I can only come humbly, but eagerly. Am I better than others because I come every first day of the week and not less frequently? Am I proud because I am always here at the Table while I look down on others? Or does my heart grieve for those members of our family who are missing?

I come to Him as the thirsty deer comes to the living waters. I want to drink deeply of His presence as I eat His body and drink His blood.

My prayer is that, first, I may truly meet Him. He is here as my Host, but do I recognize Him? Am I overwhelmed with awe that He would invite sinful me to sup with Him?

Second, my prayer is that I may open my heart to Him and listen to His counsel. Surely He has some things He would like  me to know, since He invites me here. But am I willing to listen?

Last, I pray that I leave the Table a better person with a clearer vision of my mission in life. With a better attitude toward my brothers and sisters in Christ. With greater commitment to those who have not heard His invitation to the Table. With more purpose to be God’s blessing to all who are in need.

Next – Does Jesus Disappoint Me?

Previous – The Great Physician

Leave a Reply

