• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 551 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 416,783 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
    joseph chisando on (1) BAPTISM WITH THE HOLY SPIR…
    PATRICIA DAVIS MCKAN… on QUESTION: Do You Have to Speak…
    Daisy Shirley on QUESTION: Where Is the Ark of…
  • Top Posts

  • August 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

Communion Meditation (9) – The Great Physician


“It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’” Matthew 9:12-13

Bread and WineSin-sick people come to this Table to eat with the Great Physician. At this Table, I must recognize that is what I am – one of the sin-sick in this sinful world.

That is who Jesus came to seek and to save. Not the righteous. Not the one who is in self-denial of his sinfulness. But the sinners. It was while I was still a sinner that He died for me.

In this Fellowship Feast with the Son of God who became Man I find healing from Him – because He is the Great Physician. In Him, God reaches down to me and lifts me up.

My relationship, or kinship with God is a healing one. He heals me of my hurts and brokenness. He lets me share in His wholeness as I become a partaker of His nature through the Holy Spirit He has given to me.

Out of His mercy, He makes me whole – and as I share His divine nature, I become like Him.

That is what He wants from me. He wants me to allow Him to change me from the sick, broken sinner that I am into the glorious likeness of His Son.

In finding His mercy, I learn to be merciful. That means, I give what He has given me to others. If I do not learn to do this, I remain weak and sickly – and could even fall asleep (1 Corinthians 11:30).

This means that I not only look to God for His healing gift to me. I also look to others around me to help mend their broken hearts, accepting them as God has accepted me. The absence of this was the problem at Corinth seen in how they treated this Table. They selfishly abused and neglected their brothers. They did not carry the likeness of the Great Physician.

Do I?

Next – To Be Like Jesus

Previous – The Feast in the Kingdom of God

2 Responses

  1. Very well done.

Leave a Reply

