• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 554 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 425,360 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Kevin on QUESTION: Who Was Pharaoh Duri…
    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Lenin Dorsey on QUESTION: Where Does the Bible…
    Matthews Bantsijang on SERMON: How to Stand Firm
    Abraham Uke on QUESTION: What Sin Does Not Le…
  • Top Posts

  • August 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

Communion Meditation (7) – Saying ‘Lord, Lord’ or Doing His Will?


Not everyone who says to me, “Lord, Lord,” will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. – Matthew 7:21.

Bread and Wine

Do I commune with the Lord, or just go through the motions? God’s will is for me to have fellowship with Him at His Table. This Table is not dry ritual, but joyous participation with my Savior in His body and blood.

I can sing the right songs, take the right elements, say the right words, and present a somber face – without ever becoming involved with the Lord.

  • Do I engage Him in thankful gratitude for His love and the gift that love prompted?
  • Do I commit myself in service to Him and to His Kingdom?
  • Do I find joy in being with Him and His people?
  • Do I realize in Him the peace that passes all understanding?

If I just perform the ritual of “taking communion” without any spiritual fellowship with Jesus, have I communed with Him – or have I just said, “Lord, Lord”?

Certainly, I need to break the loaf and drink the cup. Doing this, though, is not the same as actually communicating with Jesus and having fellowship with the Lord.

How sad it will be if I, while trusting my ritual “communion” with the Lord, hear His judgment, “I never knew you.” In this communion today, am I missing the presence of the Lord who longs to be here with me if I will only open my heart to Him?

Next – The Feast in the Kingdom of God

Previous – Putting First Things First

Leave a Reply

