• Jerry Starling

  • Search by Category

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 523 other followers

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 248,592 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Jerry Starling on QUESTION: Where Does Jesus Say…
    Michael Rattler on QUESTION: Where Does Jesus Say…
    Jon Paden on DIFFICULT PASSAGES: Mark 8:22-…
    kevin on DIFFICULT PASSAGES: Mark 8:22-…
    Angi on DIFFICULT PASSAGES: Mark 8:22-…
  • Top Posts

  • November 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

QUESTION:Where Is Satan Today?


Was Satan kicked out of heaven? Is he going around on earth today? Is Satan up in heaven like the book of Revelation talks about? Thank you.

Revelation 12:7-9 describes a war in Heaven that took place after the dragon was unable to kill the male child born to rule with a rod of iron. That male child was Jesus, who escaped the slaughter of the innocents following His birth and the visit of the wise men (see Matthew 2:13-18).

And there was war in heaven. Michael and his angels fought against the dragon, and the dragon and his angels fought back. But he was not strong enough, and they lost their place in heaven. The great dragon was hurled down – that ancient serpent called the devil, or Satan, who leads the whole world astray. He was hurled to the earth, and his angels with him.

This means that conditions on the earth are not the same as before Jesus came and died for our sins to destroy the works of Satan. Verse 12 of Revelation 12 continues, 

Therefore, rejoice, you heavens and you who dwell in them! But woe to the earth and the sea, because the devil has gone down to you! He is filled with fury, because he knows that his time is short.

Cartoon Logos, Clipart & Tattoos!

This is why 1 Peter 5:8 says, “Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Cast out of heaven, the devil is “bound” to this earth now, where he wages war against those who obey God and hold to the testimony of Jesus (Revelation 12:17).

That, however, is not the whole story. Revelation 12:10-11 says:

Then I heard a loud voice in heaven say: “Now have come the salvation and the power and the kingdom of our God, and the authority of his Christ. For the accuser of our brothers, who accuses them before our God day and night, has been hurled down.

They overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death….

Note that our brothers – that is Christians – overcome the devil “by the blood” of Christ and by “the word of their testimony.” Their spirits bear witness with the Holy Spirit that they are children of God” (Romans 8:16). As children of God, they have the Holy Spirit living within them as a gift from God (Galatians 4:6). These who overcame also had no fear of death because they loved God more than they loved their own lives!

James 4:7-8 promises us,

Submit yourselves, then to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come near to God and he will come near to you.

Though the devil is indeed a fearsome force on this earth, we have God’s assurance that if we resist him, he will flee. Because of the Holy Spirit in us giving us the power of our Lord, we need not fear the devil and his plots against us – though we do need to be sober and alert. Out attitude toward the devil should be respect, but not fear. Respect his craftiness, but do not live in fear because Jesus has bound him.

There is more assurance!

…. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it. – 1 Corinthians 10:13

We have God’s promise that He will not permit more temptation than we can bear. There have been many times in my life when I have prayed, “Lord, you must think more of my ability to bear than I do!” However, God was looking at my ability to bear in the power of the Holy Spirit, not in my strength alone.

In Christ, we can put the devil to flight. He is not able to accuse us before God as he did Job when he came from going to and fro in the earth to stand before God in heaven (see Job, chapters 1 & 2). Because of Jesus, his activity is limited to earth. He has been cast out of heaven, but even here on earth, we can resist him and overcome, though it may mean a struggle – even unto death.

The answer to your question is, “Yes.” The devil is going about the earth today because Michael and the other angels of God threw him out of heaven. He goes about as a roaring, hungry lion seeking to devour us. However, the devil is not the only power on earth. God has sent His Spirit to be with us to help us. Because of God’s help, we can overcome.

Let these words encourage you as you walk with Jesus each day.

27 Responses

  1. I read about this under The Reluctant Messenger that God gave gifts to Archangels- Michael-Eternity Gabriel-Awareness Lucifer-Infinity and that Lucifer was also in charge of Earth. God saw that Lucifer was doing good,but when Lucifer found out what God had planned about the Earth. Lucifer was angry about this,and found out what God had planned for Earth. Lucifer rebelled and Gods angels made war against Lucifer and cast him out. Unfortunately for us he did not discharge Lucifer of his duties on Earth thats why he is present here on Earth to tempt us.
    I might have made a bit of a hash tying to explain this.

    • Did your source say where in the Bible all of these gifts were given to Michael, Gabriel, and Lucifer? I have not read about gifts like these given to angels. Nor does the Bible call Satan Lucifer. In Isaiah 14:12 where the name “Lucifer” appears in the King James Version (1611), later translations have “Day Star” – but the context is speaking of the King of Babylon when he died.

      There are Biblical references to Satan having rebelled against God – and Revelation 12:9ff talks about the old serpent being thrown out of heaven onto the earth. It also talks about the serpent being defeated, as God promised in Genesis 3:15. Paul evidently had this in mind in Romans 16:20 when he said “God will soon crush Satan under your feet.”

      There are many who use Bible characters to tell stories that are not in the Bible, which can really be confusing to people who do not read the Bible understanding that not everything people say is in the Bible is really there.

      • It was on a site called the Reluctant Messenger.
        Has far as i know it`s not in the bible,and it came under the heading before creation. I did not take it has was written in the bible.
        I just took it has it might of happened,and it made no quotes to the bible like you say. So i just took it has a story.
        I am just a simple man,and this is just off the top of my head.Idid hear a story that Satan rebelled,and that he and all his angels were cast out of Heaven. If you visit the site you will be able to tell me if this was so.
        To me it was just interesting to read the story,and thats all.
        I would be very interested if you could look into this,and tell me what happened before the Creation.

  2. I looked briefly at reluctantmessenger.com. This web site seems to be a hodge-podge of old books and theories that try to make Jesus less than what the Bible presents Him as being: the unique Son of God, or the Eternal Word of God made flesh.

    The originator of this site admits (on http://www.reluctantmessenger.org) that he couches his “message” in fiction because people will not receive it.

    The fact that people refuse a message does not by itself mean that message in not true. After all, people rejected Jesus as well. However, it does not mean the message IS true either. We must evaluate it by what we know to be true.

    Let me ask you a question about just one of the claims made on this web site: If Jesus spent 13 years from age 13 – 29 traveling in India, Tibet, Pakistan, and that part of the world – how did the people of Nazareth think they knew Him so well when He returned there in Matthew 13:53-58 and Luke 4:16-30?

    • Yes you are quite right Jerry, i did not take this site serious,and i knew you would suss it out. Thanks for taking your time to fully explain to me what this site was about.
      Has for the question you posed i can not answer it,like i said i am just a simple man,and has for the question its self i did not know there were questions like this on the site.
      I just went on to the site to read that story,and thats all i took it has a story. I know you could answer it. I would like to hear the answer.

      • I do not know how to answer that hypothetical question either. IF Jesus were not in Nazareth, but was instead off in India and Tibet for 17 years, I do not know how the people of Nazareth would have thought they knew so much about Him. I asked the question to show that the story of Jesus being off in South Central Asia all of that time is not consistent with the Biblical revelation about Him. Think about it. At most He taught in Judea and Galilee for 3 1/2 years. If he were in India and Tibet for 17 years, that would be almost 5 times as long as He taught in Israel. Yet, when He died and ascended to Heaven, He had to tell His disciples to go into all the world (including India and Tibet) and preach the gospel, making disciples of all nations (including India and Tibet!). This yarn is non consistent with the Bible; it does contradict the Bible, so I reject it, choosing rather to believe the Bible.

      • Yes i agree with you. I just went to site to read that story about the Archangels,and thats all i took it has a story. A bit like Robin hood.
        I am ignorant of the fact that Jesus has far has i know never left Palestine.

      • Jesus was taken to Egypt when he was a baby to escape from Herod. Read the story in Matthew 2.

      • Yes you are quite right that Jesus went to Egypt. I am busy watching the film called Jesus Of Nazareth,which is in four parts,and made in England. The actor Robert Powel plays Jesus. I do not know if you can get the film in the USA. I never get sick of watching it. In the film Herod ordered that all the first born to be killed,and i think it was one of the wise men that told Joseph to go to Egypt.

  3. Try to be obidence to your suprem God

    • I do not know what you mean by this. If you mean do live by Gods Commandments,and what Jesus told us to do.I am trying to be obedient. I fall down now and again,like everybody else?

  4. Hi Jerry- thank you for your “sound” bible teaching- this is sooo refreshing! I have a question about the gifts of the Spirit- mainly the prophetic- I have been a member of churches where you get called out and I have gotten so many word/promises– it has been about 20 years and it is like I have been waiting for these things to happen- a husband- a good job just a great life- but things have gotten so bad like GOD is looking at me like wait just a little longer…now I am 49..I have been living my life not just waiting like that but I thought as I lived he would bless me with the things he promised..I feel very confused sometimes about hearing his voice…do you have any words of wisdom in this area? Thanks.

  5. one more question do you think a christian wouold go to heaven or hell if they committed suicide?

    • Dee,

      Thank you (I think) for your kind comment. The term “sound doctrine” is often used as code for “those things our church teaches that makes us better than all other churches.” But, I don’t think that is what you meant by it!

      I do not believe that a Christian’s suicide would necessarily keep him/her from going to heaven – but I do hope you aren’t contemplating this as a “solution” to the frustrations you expressed in your first comment.

      Let me suggest that you take a deep breath, slow down a bit, and take some time to count your blessings. No, life is not ideal. We can all think of things that could make life better for us. This does not mean that God is ignoring us or that He has abandoned us. Even the apostle prayed 3 times for his “thorn in the flesh” to be removed. God answered, “My grace is sufficient for you” (2 Cor. 12:7-10).

      You might also spend some time meditating on 1 Corinthians 7:32-35 where Paul speaks of the greater ease of serving God as a single. Our church culture often discounts singles – to our shame. Paul (who was evidently single) seems to think there are some advantages in being unmarried, while recognizing that this is not the life for everyone. See how this passage might relate to you – and try to see if there are ways you can serve God (while serving others) as a single.

      As far as spiritual gifts go, I have quit worrying about them. If God chooses to give them, that is His business. The more excellent way and the greater gift is still the way of love (1 Corinthians 12:31). I do know that people have often claimed gifts they do not possess, so I am at least mildly skeptical when claims are made – but I do not say that those gifts just absolutely are not found anywhere today.

      I hope these few words will be of some help to you. “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world” (John 16:33). That is the way Jesus talks to His disciples. Take His words seriously. Our victory over the world does not come through a good job, a husband, a great life, or even the spiritual gifts. It comes through our faithful trust and loyalty to our God (see 1 John 5:4-5).

  6. Hi Jerry-

    First, I have heard so many teachings in this hour- people having “revelations about the scripture” instead of just the basic word of GOD- when I happpened upon your blog- I read your answers to the peoples questions and it was just so basic and simple not a bunch of ” extra meanings”- so for that I thank you. Honestly I have thought about suicide- not because I don’t believe in the LORD- but ( a short version of my life story):

    At 10 years old ,my Father shot my mother 6 times and then killed himself while I watched

    At 17 ( my child hood boyfriend) I got married and we had 4 kids together- he was a minister and he was sleeping with many women in the church and outside of the church- devastated our family( plus he was doing drugs( all while being a “minister”) I am still healing over that drama

    Just all my life really really bad things happen to me and I have been serving the LORD since 1982- I mean really following after him in my heart and soul- but it seems like not good happens in my life only heart ache and pain in every season- I just got a good job at a Law Firm (I have worked in the legal field for 9 years) and before my training was over in like 6 days – they just said I was not working out- No reason- nothing just we have to let you go- I am so tired in my heart – I don’t have any real friends who I can talk to and I still believe in GOD but it just hurts to wake up any more and I just feel so tired..it so much more to my story..but yes I have thought about ending it and the scary thing is it brings me joy at the thought…I attend a “mega church” in Los Angeles and I can not talk to my Pastor- he is to “famous” to even shake his hand- but anyway thank you for letting me vent…trust me I have heard it all the bible quotes) I feel like JOB but my life is not turning around…. I just want to go home and be with the LORD – this live is to hard :(

    • Dee, Thank you for contacting me again. I have a friend whose blog I follow who has a woman named Dee who frequently comments there. I thought that might be you, so I contacted him and asked him to look at what you had written earlier and my reply. I was hoping he would be able to point you to some help – but his “Dee” is about 70 years old, so he knew it wasn’t you.

      My suggestion would be that you try to find a smaller church where you can talk with the minister and/or an elder. Several churches even have trained counselors on staff. If you can find one of these, I’m sure you can get some help. Also, in a smaller church it is much easier to meet people and find friends. In large churches, many people just get lost in the crowd.

      Try that. And let me know how it turns out. You can contact me directly at eemjerry at gmail dot com.

      Jerry

  7. Thank you for the info- no I am a lady who lives in California LOL..this is my first time on a blog such as this…

    One more really deep question- not to go over board here- but this is something I was wondering- Predestination:

    If God always has been and he knows all there is to know then have we always “been” as well? If we were in his thoughts before we got here and his thoughts are perfect and eternal then are those of us born in the earth/GOD’s plan- have we always been as well? Romans 9 talk about Pharoh being chosen and GOD harden his heart for his glory to be revealed also the man born blind who Jesus said he nor his parents sinned…but so GOD could be glorified…in s nut shell- did we exist with GOD and he sent us here to this earth with everyday of our life being a part of his eternal plan- those that are saved as well as sinners who will never be saved? Vessels of honor and dishonor…thanks

    • Dee,

      Now you are getting into deep theological waters. The question of predestination (which the Bible does talk about) has been around a long, long time. The question about predestination is, “What is it anyway?”

      Does it mean the kind of thing you describe in your question? If it does, then God is responsible for all of the evils in the world as well as all of the good. Or does it simply mean that God has a plan for us, which we may or may not follow – depending on choices we make. I personally believe that predestination is more like the later of these than the first. God had a plan before the foundation of the world to save the lost. (Isn’t that strange? He knew mankind would reject Him, but He created us anyway!) His plan, of course, was Jesus. But whether or not I accept His plan is up to me.

      Closely connected with predestination is foreknowledge – i.e., that God knows the future before it becomes the present. Foreknowledge does not equate to predestination, however. God can know things will happen without causing them to happen. He can use that knowledge to warn His people – but they may pay no attention to His warning. I think that is what happened time and time again in the history of Israel. They ignored God’s warnings until finally disaster overtook them.

      The point of this is that we need to live today, not blaming God for what has happened to us – but trusting God’s offer of life that is truly life, which is life in Jesus. Some of us tend to expect God to be our personal magic geni who will give us the good life in exchange for a minimal commitment of time on our part.

      But God is not like that. He gives us blessing after blessing – but He does that for the whole world, not just for His people. I have had people who become Christians tell me how much better off they were financially. It was not because they had more money. It was because they did not waste their money on frivolous things – like drinking, gambling, etc. They were better off because they made better choices about how to live. Sometimes, however, the opposite happens. People become Christians and they are persecuted. Does God do that? Or are those things the choices made by the persecutors. Even God’s own Son was persecuted for His righteousness’ sake. We may be as well, but that does not mean should not follow Jesus.

      We need to live each day determined to be as much like Jesus as we can be: loving, forgiving, patient, kind . Most of us have a real problem trying to follow just one single verse: “Do everything without complaining or arguing” (Philippians 2:14). But I’ve learned that if I pay more attention to the “little” issues – like faithfulness, godliness, attitude, character, and such like then the big issues like predestination and the nature of Jesus in His incarnation (how could a man be God or God be a man?) will all take care of themselves. (I mention the nature of Jesus because I’m reading right now about some ancient Christians who slaughtered one another in massive numbers because they could not agree on just how God became Man in Jesus.)

      I’m not the Bible scholar you seem to think I am. I have been blessed with some good education in Christian schools up to an MA in New Testament Studies – but most of what I know I learned the hard way: by study and experience with live over the course of my 72 years. Many people know more than I and have experienced much more than I. Many times, I have been able to learn from them. At other times, I hope I have been able to contribute to others as well. May God bless you in your search for peace in Him.

      Jerry

      • Thanks Jerry:

        You have been a encouragment – hopefully when it is all over we will meet in that heavenly city…keep me in your prayers…keep on encouraging the saints…now unto to him who is able to keep us from falling…GOD bless!

      • Studying the bible brings great comfort and peace of mind. I detect that you have not regularly studied and answered questions. And have not understood and taken the steps to and for salvation, I.e. life after death. 1. Read, learn, understand, 2. Believe that Jesus. The Christ, is God’s son, 3. Repent of all past sins, 4. Confess your belief public ally ( before. The church) , 5. Be baptized, immersed for the washing away of sins symbolically Jesus’ blood cleanses, to arise a new person into christ’s body/ church to begin a new life of daily study, fellow -shipping with Your eklessia, brothers & sisters in Christ, worshipping together regularly while growing in knowledge and spiritual understanding to take up His cross/burden of seeking to save the lost. It takes a life time forever achieving greater insight & understanding.
        Suggest– http://www.www.creationmoments.com, http://www.answersingenesis,com, http://www.christiancourier.com, http://www.e-sword.net, www,intelligentdesign.org, http://www.thegospelofchrist.com, the world bible school, and if you need more suggestions just ask. The Church of Christ is not a denomination, but follows the biblical teachings thoughtfully and carefully without personal opinions just great translations in American Standard Bible of 1901 and the King James newer versions. You are welcome at any Church of Christ to learn in a class during a week night, Sunday morning, maybe Sunday evenings, and by appointment, without any obligation on your part other than wanting to learn and understand. Find the closest one to you in the telephone book. There are some who believe the building is holy, it is not, just a shelter for meeting together. some do not believe the church as a whole should support/give to the needy but individuals should decide for themselves. The main reason for COC’s unpopularity is the lack of musical instruments, I.e. no entertainment, no special choir. We all sing to praise and worship God, which is a sweet melody to The Lord, no one is special. Each does the best they can individually with love, and work together out of love for God and to His glory. The Church of Christ is a God fearing family spread around the world. Hope this helps.

      • Katie,

        On what do you base these words with which you began your comment?

        I detect that you have not regularly studied and answered questions. And have not understood and taken the steps to and for salvation, I.e. life after death.

        You obviously did not read my profile on this blog. You may read it here.

        Thank you for your comment anyway.

        Jerry

  8. Dee, I read your comments and I want you to know that God does so love you. Yes, bad things happen to good people. Know that God is in control of your life and HE has a reason and purpose for your life. HE will let you know what that is. Just keep on reading and studying the word of God. Please have a good prayer life. I have and am where you are so know that I love you with the love of Christ.
    Barb

  9. I LIKED THE MESSAGE BUT I DO NOT BELIEVE SATAN IS CONFINED TO THE EARTH. WE ALREADY HAVE PUT PEOPLE ON THE MOON AND I DO NOT BELIEVE THEY ESCAPED SATAN’S PRESENCE WHEN THEY WERE ON THE MOON. I BELIEVE HE DWELLS IN THE FIRST AND SECOND HEAVENS THE ATMOSPHERE AND THE STELLAR HEAVENS BUT HAS BEEN EXPELLED FROM THE THIRD HEAVEN. OTHER THAN THAT A VERY GOOD SCRIPTURAL ARTICLE.

    • In this context, I used (as I believe Scripture used) the word “earth” to mean “the abode of man,” a definition that would include what you mention above.

      In this connection, though, have you read C.S. Lewis’ Space Trillogy in which he postulates visits to Mars and Venus. On Mars, the Fall never occurred; on Venus, the hero of the three volumes came there to help protect the “Eve” of that planet from accepting the Tempter’s voice. Fictional, but an interesting concept. In this trilogy, Earth is known as “The Dark Planet” because it was isolated from the rest of the universe.

  10. very good information and helpful. thank you for sharing. i have felt like Job over the past 5 yrs and now i know i am not in the same situation as him and have more power than i thought to stop the destruction occurring in my life. God Bless YOU in your studies and ministry.

  11. The bible tells us that God cursed Satan. Satan is not human,,,he is a spiritual being however he can take form. Satan remains, usually in the background to cause trouble. He knows he is defeated and can only accuse the brethren. These spirits have no restriction to locale, thats why he can visit heaven and anywhere he wants but his power is tainted by the blood of Christ, he is defeated. He can not reside in heaven because of the curse. He is given a little power for a time on earth. This makes him suffer greatly because he can not escape his eventual torment in the lake of fire which Jesus will eventually throw him into,,,its a matter of timing.

    Jesus could be well know in his birth place. He is the master, Lord of Lord and King of Kings. He declared he is the messiah which settles the matter. He is the resurrection and the life,,,,glory be to God. Hallelujah…..Jesus forgive our misunderstandings on your perfect plan.

    • Actually, Satan is more limited than we sometimes realize. While in Job’s day, he was able to visit heaven with the sons of God, Revelation tells us he is now “cast down to earth.” Jesus speaks of “binding” the strong man (Satan) before plundering his goods. I do not see this “binding” as absolute. Rather, Satan seems to be “tethered” and can operate only within the confines of his tether. That is why Paul could say that God will not allow us to be tempted beyond that which we can bear.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 523 other followers

